Skip to content

Creamistry

May 4, 2017

By now, if you’ve been keeping up with my blog, you’ll know that I am a huge sucker for ice cream.  I feel, sometimes, that I live, eat, breath and dream about ice cream.  I think about when I’m going to have more ice cream, I select flavors of ice cream in my dreams, I think about how eating ice cream makes me feel.  Pretty much, I’m crazy for ice cream.  I’ve always joked with people that there are two food items I would never say no to, and that is ice cream and chocolate.  So, last year, when a new ice cream joint opened in our neighborhood, I told my husband right away that we needed to check it out.  I’m embarrassed to say how many times we’ve been there since that first visit.

Creamistry is a new-age, hi-tech ice cream joint that starts off with the basic ice cream ingredients of cream and flavoring, combined it with gastronomy gadgets such as liquid nitrogen, to create your very own customized ice cream creation.  Nothing is made until you order it, and then you can watch as the ingredients and flavorings you chose are combined together in a mixing bowl with liquid nitrogen until it forms the perfect scoop of creamy, delicious ice cream.  Half the fun is watching the “creamologist” use the liquid nitrogen and gaze upon the amount of frozen ice clouds that coming streaming out of the mixing bowl, onto the counter, and out into the store.

There are three steps to making your customized, made-to-order liquid nitrogen ice cream creation.  The first step is to choose your base.  There are four different ice cream bases that you can choose from to create a small cup, large cup, or a shake.  The base creates that base layer that will be used to ultimately flavor your ice cream.  The base that my husband and I have always chosen is the signature premium cream.  It is described as being “rich and indulgent” and is the creamiest of all of the 4 ice cream bases.  There is also an organic cream version made with 5 simple ingredients and USDA certified as 100% organic, kosher and non GMO.  Of course, if you don’t want rich, and creamy and full-fat, or if you aren’t looking for a dairy-based dessert, there are a couple of other options for bases.  There is a sorbet base which is non-dairy, water based base used to make fruit sorbets in a limited number of flavors which include: blood orange, green apple, mango, pineapple and pink grapefruit.  Or there is a coconut milk base that is a non-dairy, vegan base that is also lactose, gluten and egg free for a healthier, non-dairy cream dessert.

 

Step two is to choose your ice cream flavoring.  The flavoring you choose gets added to the base you chose into a mixing bowl.  These two simple ingredients together combine to create the flavor of your ice cream.  There’s a wide variety of different flavors to choose from in various categories.  There’s your traditional flavors of caramel, chocolate, French vanilla, Madagascar vanilla bean, and mint.  There is the ever kid-popular flavor of cotton candy.  And there’s the hip new option of salted caramel.  There are various nutty flavors, all which go well with the coconut base such as coconut, nutella, pure roasted pistachio, Reese’s peanut butter and taro.  There’s a cookies and cake category that includes birthday cake, cheesecake, cookie butter, Oreo, and tiramisu.  There’s fruity flavors such as black cherry, fresh banana, strawberry and strawberry milk.  There’s coffees and teas such as espresso, matcha green tea, milk tea and Thai tea.  And there’s the very popular cereals category which includes Cap’N Crunch, Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Cocoa Puffs, French Toast Crunch and Fruity Pebbles.  Being creatures of habit, I’ve tried the Cinnamon Toast Crunch, fresh banana and espresso.  And while some of the other flavors such as tiramisu and strawberry sound really good to me, I can’t get myself to switch to other flavors as the ones I’ve made have been so tasty.  My husband has always stuck with either Cinnamon Toast Crunch or Fruity Pebbles.  And yes, they really do put actual cereal into a bowl with your chosen base.  And while you may think that doing that may make for soggy cereal, it’s amazing how the end result turns out.

The mixing bowl is attached to a stand mixer that has a special hook up for the liquid nitrogen, and then, as they say, the magic happens.  The stand mixer is turned on, some liquid nitrogen is added slowly while the mixer is still going and all the ingredients combine together.  The reaction of the liquid nitrogen mixing with the liquid base of the ice cream creates this cloud of cold gas that fills the countertops, much the way dry ice reacts when it comes into contact with liquid.  The liquid nitrogen freezes the base and flavoring component immediately and within minutes creates ice cream!  It’s such a simple concept, and an amazing process.

The final step is for the Creamologist to scoop the ice cream out of the mixing bowl and into a cup.  This is also the last step in your customized ice cream creation as you can now add as many, or as little, toppings as you want to your ice cream.  The toppings can be mixed into the ice cream, so therefore before the ice cream is scooped out of the mixing bowl, the topping is added and everything is mixed together, or it can be placed on top of your ice cream scoop.  The possibilities are endless and the toppings are numerous.  Toppings include chocolate curls, Heath, Kit Kat, mini M&’s, mini chocolate chips, mini gummy bears, mini marshmallows, mochi, rainbow sprinkles, Reese’s cups, Twix, fresh baked brownie bites, Cap’N Crunch, cheesecake bites, Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Cocoa Puffs, cookie dough, French Toast Crunch, Fruity Pebbles, Oreo, fresh banana, fresh strawberry, almonds, pecans and walnuts.  And of course, it wouldn’t be ice cream if you couldn’t top it off with whipped cream, strawberry sauce, chocolate fudge, caramel, kiwi, honey, blueberry sauce, mango, Nutella and marshmallow sauce.  There are so many combinations you can make.  Unsure, the first time around, I had a hard time deciding what I wanted to order so I stuck to flavors that I knew and was familiar with.  I chose the espresso flavored syrup with the signature premium base and asked for bananas to be mixed into the ice cream as my topping.  The espresso syrup combined with the signature premium base created a very creamy and delicious ice cream.  It was thick and rich and absolutely amazing.  I loved it.  And while you may think that bananas and coffee don’t go together, I’d beg to differ as bananas go with any flavor possible.  And for me, this was a perfect pair.  Fresh banana slices mixed right into fresh made espresso ice cream, it was a winner!

My husband, decided to be a little more adventurous that me and wanted Cinnamon Toast Crunch added to his signature premium base and then topped with caramel sauce.  Again, my first thought was, “cereal added to cream? Ew, wouldn’t that just make it soggy?”  But I couldn’t be more wrong.  Sure enough, actual Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal was added directly into a mixing bowl with signature premium ice cream base and mixed with liquid nitrogen to form ice cream.  Surprisingly, the cinnamon toast crunch cereal was crunchy and cinnamon-y and delicious.  The mixture with the cream was perfect and again, created very creamy and smooth ice cream.  The caramel sauce added just the touch of sweetness the ice cream needed.  My husband really liked the texture and creaminess of the ice cream.  The texture and the smoothness and thickness that you can achieve with just the combination of the creamy base and the liquid nitrogen is amazing.  It looks like ice cream, and taste luxurious like good quality ice cream.

As I’ve said, since our first visit to Creamistry, I fell in love with it and my husband and I have been back numerous times.  Occasionally, we’ve both even tried different flavors and combinations.  I’ve had fresh banana ice cream topped with fresh strawberries and cheesecake bites.  What’s a better combination and strawberries and banana?  Again, you have to understand how much I love bananas.  Banana ice cream is just up my alley, add fresh bananas and mix it in with signature premium base to create a flavorful, creamy ice cream.  Add fresh, ripe strawberries and small cheesecake bite squares, and it added sweetness, tanginess and richness to a fantastic cup of ice cream.

My husband has mixed up the Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal with Fruity Pebbles instead as he wanted something colorful and different, so he topped his creation with blueberry syrup.  I think he liked this combination even more than the Cinnamon Toast Crunch ice cream as this was crunchier and more colorful and more flavorful whereas the Cinnamon Toast Crunch was just cinnamon-y.  And of course, blueberries are my husband’s favorite fruit, so the blueberry syrup is the perfect topping for his fruity pebble ice cream.  Since he switched it up and left the Cinnamon Toast Crunch ice cream behind, I decided to get Cinnamon Toast Crunch ice cream myself instead of the banana ice cream and topped it with strawberries and cheesecake bites.  That was also a fantastic combination as the cinnamon, the cheesecakes and the sweetness of the strawberries creates a filling and delicious ice cream combination.

There are thousands of combinations that you can create at Creamistry, from mixing up ice cream flavor combinations to mixing up the toppings.  You can even make milkshakes, affogatos, or have a brownie sundae or your ice cream put into a waffle bowl.  The combinations appear to be limitless.  Who knows, maybe one of these trips, my husband and I will be willing to mix it up again and try different flavors and different combinations.  Although, right now, I think we’ve been perfectly happy with the combinations we’ve created so far.  And we’ll continue to go back to Creamistry again and again.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 2, 2017 6:30 pm

    Cinnamon toast looks like a must try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

