Skip to content

Fleming’s Easter Brunch

May 30, 2014

Our final meal in San Diego for our weekend getaway trip happened to be a bunch on Sunday.  But this wasn’t just any Sunday, it was Easter Sunday.  Knowing that it was a bit of a holiday, we looked into making reservations in advance for this meal so that we wouldn’t be stuck without a meal.  Inspiration came one afternoon in the form of an email.  Both my husband and I received the email.  I deleted mine from my inbox, even though I thought it sounded interesting because it was specifically for an Easter Sunday brunch and I knew we would be in San Diego.  This was an email from a chain restaurant and I never considered whether or not there would be a location in San Diego so I dismissed the email all together.  My husband however got the email and went on the Internet to figure our where their locations were.  Shortly thereafter, I received an email from my husband asking me if I might be interested in going to this place as they had a location in San Diego’s Gaslamp and he thought it was a good deal and we were looking for a place to eat for Easter Sunday anyways.  Unbeknownst to him that I had received the same email and deleted it, he forwarded me the email he received.  Once I realized that we would be close enough to a location of this restaurant to take advantage of the deal, I decided to let my husband make reservations.

The restaurant is Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar, a restaurant that I wrote about in May 2013 which my husband and I have dined at one other time outside of what I wrote about last year.  We’ve always enjoyed Fleming’s and felt that they have fabulous service, incredibly food and all without the incredibly high prices that are found at other steak houses.  Don’t get me wrong, Fleming’s can still be an expensive night out for two, but with Fleming’s you really get what you pay for and more.  Luckily for us, this Easter brunch promotion was taking place while we were in San Diego and they just happened to have a location in the Gaslamp District and right across the train tracks from the Convention Center.  As it was Easter Sunday, Fleming’s which is almost-never open during the day opened up for brunch with a special menu just for the day to serve customers looking for a nice Easter brunch location.  This was exactly what we were looking for.

113

Instead of the traditional bread and butter that you get with a normal evening dinner service at Fleming’s, Easter brunch featured homemade biscuits with apricot jam and whipped butter.  I think my husband must have enjoyed the biscuits more than I did as I only finished half of mine while my husband finished his and asked for the half that I didn’t eat.  I really was looking for something that was more like a homestyle biscuit that was fluffy and dense inside and rich and buttery.  Instead, these biscuits were too flaky and overcooked on the outside and just too bread-like on the inside for my liking.

As part of their special Easter Brunch menu, Fleming’s has chosen a few of their signature dishes, with some specials and offered it as a prix fixe menu.  With the Easter menu, you get your choice of one starter, one entrée, sides which are automatically served, and one dessert per person.  Not a bad offer, a whole lot of food for a reasonable price.

114

For the appetizer choice, we were given 3 options: lobster bisque, modern Caesar salad and fresh seasonal fruits.  My husband and I both chose to go with the modern Caesar for our appetizer.  At Fleming’s a modern Caesar is your traditional romaine hearts with shaved parmesan and Caesar dressing, but what makes it modern is the addition of fried capers and crispy prosciutto.  All served with a slice of toasted cheese crostini.  I’m not the biggest fan of the briny caper, but in a fried form where the briny-ness disappears and all that is left is a crispy, slightly salty little ball, it’s quite good.  The crispy prosciutto is also quite nice as it also loses some of its saltiness and adds a great texture combination to the cheese and shaved parmesan cheese.

The entrée course afforded us a choice of one of 4 different menu options.  The options were: signature eggs benedict with sliced filet mignon or smoked salmon served on a toasted English muffin with wilted arugula and bernaise sauce, baked brioche French toast layered in vanilla and orange custard, with a brown sugar, butter and walnut streusel, served with maple-blueberry syrup, Chantilly cream and sausage, prime rib hash with roasted prime rib and potato hash with scrambled eggs, scallions, red chili sauce and cumin-lime sour cream; and finally a prime rib with a trio of sauces – au jus, creamy horseradish and Dijon mustard.

117

In addition to the entrée, 2 sides were automatically served with the meal.  The first side was roasted cauliflower and broccoli with herb butter.  Not mentioned on the menu, roasted tomatoes were also included.  I really liked this side as the tomatoes added a nice acidity to the vegetables, and the cauliflower and broccoli were roasted to the point where they were cooked through, but not so wilted that they lost their crunch and texture.

116

As much as I enjoyed the roasted vegetables, the second side dish was my favorite.  Smashed potatoes O’Brien.  I’ve tried so many times to make a potato hash such as this at home, but to no avail.  I can never understand how restaurants can get their potatoes to be perfectly cooked and crispy on the outside and yet fully cooked and light and fluffy on the inside.  Either my potatoes stick to the pan, or they don’t cook all the way through.  These potatoes O’Brien were incredibly crispy on the outside and perfectly flavored with the bell peppers and the onions and still fluffy on the inside.  I think I could have finished off two plates of this!

115

My husband chose for his entrée the signature eggs benedict.  I knew he’d choose that as he’s a huge eggs benedict fan.  Though, if it were me, I would have chosen the eggs benedict with the sliced filet mignon since we are at a steak house after all.  However, my husband saw eggs benedict and smoked salmon, two of his favorite things, and had to go with the smoked salmon option.  The poached eggs were cooked perfectly and the yolks were nice and runny, just the way my husband likes it when it comes to eggs benedict.  However, while the wilted arugula added a bit of peppery flavor, my husband ultimate said that it was too much arugula and he could have done without it all, so eventually, he ended up getting rid of the arugula and enjoying his eggs benedict without it.

118

My entrée of choice was the prime rib with the trio of sauces.  The prime rib was perfectly cooked and flavorful and juice with an incredibly flavorful peppered crust and not too much fat.  It was also a portion of pretty good size.  The creamy horseradish sauce along with the au jus was terrific.  A combo of the two sauces worked perfectly for me.  The Dijon sauce was not really my favorite and I felt it a bit too hot for the prime rib.  I surprised myself by actually finishing the whole portion of prime rib, which tells me that I really enjoyed it, so much so that I didn’t leave myself any as leftovers.

Finally, as part of the prix fixe menu for Easter Sunday, dessert was also included.  We had a choice of 3 different dessert options.  Those options were white chocolate bread pudding, cheesecake and walnut turtle pie.  And all of the desserts at Fleming’s come with a side of their Chantilly cream, which I just love.  Whipped cream makes everything better!

120

My husband chose a dessert that he’s had before at Fleming’s, the walnut turtle pie.  I think this is the third time he’s gotten this dessert, and he’s finished it off all three times.  I assume that means it’s pretty darn good.  Add a little Chantilly cream and it makes it all that much better.  Super moist and flavorful slice of pie.

119

For me, the white chocolate bread pudding sounded really good, so I decided to give it a try.  Wow, this was decadent and delicious.  Several pieces of delicious bread pudding topped with a white chocolate sauce and then topped with a dollop of Chantilly cream and some cocoa powder.  It was extremely luxurious and incredibly filling.  It tasted really yummy, but I will admit that the white chocolate was very sweet and after finishing half of this dessert, I just couldn’t eat any more.  Bread pudding is already heavy to begin with, and add this sweet white chocolate sauce, it was overpowering.  Really unique flavors and I’m glad I ordered this dessert.

At the end of the meal as we were exiting the restaurant, a local resident walked past, realized that the restaurant was open and then commented that it must be something special going on because Fleming’s is never open for lunch time.  We walked out of the restaurant feeling like we had made the right decision for our Easter Sunday brunch meal.  The service was fantastic, the food was delicious and filling, and we were able to find a restaurant to dine at that we both enjoyed on a holiday rather than ending up at our local fast food joint.  Fleming’s Easter Sunday brunch featured a selection of their classic goodies as well as some new dishes that fit the brunch and Easter theme.  This was a great weekend getaway to San Diego for my husband and I, and we ended it on a great note with brunch at Fleming’s.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 8, 2014 4:54 pm

    White chocolate is always so sweet.

Leave a Reply

