Skip to content

Living The Suite Life (Again!)

April 9, 2014

It’s always nice when your husband invites you to a company function of his and that function happens to be access to a luxury suite at the Staples Center in Los Angeles to see a hockey game!  Way back at the end of 2011, we had our first opportunity to attend a Los Angeles Kings game from a luxury suite and live it up with all of the perks and amenities that come from being in a luxury suite.  It was such a fun experience, I wasn’t going to pass up the opportunity when it came around again!  And being that the event we were watching was a hockey game made it all the much better since my husband and I are both huge hockey fans.  For the game this time around, it was the Los Angeles Kings versus the Washington Capitals.  While I’ve seen the Kings play in person numerous times, I’d never seen the Washington Capitals before and it was made all the more special by the fact that the Capitals boast one of the NHL’s most exciting players in Alexander Ovechkin.  What more can you ask for than a night of good fun with great company and good food!

03.20.14 035

When we arrived at Staples Center, the crowed was pumped for the game!  Kings fans, and some Capital fans, were streaming in through the doors ready for a good night of hockey action.  Sadly, I almost didn’t even make the game myself due to work obligations!  I was bummed at first when I found out that I might not make this event as I had been so looking forward to it since we had such a good time in the Fall of 2011 when I got to experience a luxury suite for the first time.  Luckily, at the last minute I was released from my work obligation and my husband and I made it to Staples Center just before they sang the National Anthems before the drop of the puck!  And boy was I glad I was able to make for this game as it was a blast!

012

First off, watching a game from a luxury suite provides such an amazing view.  It makes you feel spoiled, like it’s really the only way to watch a sporting event. You’ve got your own private box with plush comfortable and private seats, and if you’re not too interested on what’s going on on the court, there’s always a bar top with stools or comfy couches in front a flat screen tv to enjoy. And of course, there’s the food.  Can’t forget the food!

003

Let’s start with the most popular food item that was available for us in our suite, grilled chicken and shrimp skewers with a red cabbage slaw. They were so popular I never got my hands on the shrimp skewers.  But, I did try the chicken skewer and thought it was really tasty, albeit with a bit of a spice kick to it.  I wasn’t quite sure what kind of marinade was used, but it packed a bit of heat!

004

Served with the skewers was a side of fresh mango salsa.  A bit of fresh mango, some thin-sliced red onions, a bit of cilantro and a whole lot of flavor. Everyone loved the skewers and the side of mango salsa.  By the end of the first period the entire plate of skewers had been completely devoured as had the mango salsa!

007

Comfort food and finger foods go hand in hand with sporting events.  Something you can easily dish up, that’s tasty, and is easy to chow down on while you’re watching the game.  So, what are we served?  Chicken drummettes and wings to chomp on.  Good old-fashioned finger-licking-good food.  And the comfort food offering was elbow macaroni served in a cheesy, alfredo sauce with fresh sautéed spinach.  Cheesy goodness and chicken wings, that’s enough to fill anyone up.

006

My favorite food offering of the night was really tasty chicken and beef fajitas with sautéed multicolored peppers and onions.  The fajita seasoning was really good with a bit of a kick.  The fajitas were served with warm flour tortillas, salsa and sour cream.  These bad boys were so yummy that I had to sneak back for seconds.  I couldn’t help myself.

008

Another favorite of all of us in the suite that night was the sushi and sashimi platter!  Various types of fresh fish from salmon to tuna to yellowtail sashimi, plus some cut sushi rolls all served with a side of wasabi and pickled ginger along with soy sauce to enjoy for one and all. You can bet this was a big hit and another dish that disappeared by the end of the night!

009

And then for those of us who were looking for a bit of an after dinner treat, or just a healthier snack offering, there was a fresh fruit plate.  Grapes, blueberries, blackberries, strawberries, and fresh-cut mango, watermelon, pineapple, honeydew, cantaloupe and even star fruit.  I can’t even remember the last time I saw start fruit!

022

Let’s not forget the drinks!  Hard to enjoy a night at any sporting event without some drinks to quench your parched throat from all the cheering you do.  There was a refrigerator filled with the tamer drinks for those of us that don’t drink.  Sodas, ginger ale, bottled water.  All thirst quenching.

021

Then there was another refrigerator filled with chilled alcoholic drinks. This was a favorite amongst many in the suite.  Various cold beers and even a bottle of champagne.

025And if you wanted harder liquor or mixed drinks, that was available as well.  Margarita mix, tequila, gin and more along with some tonic water and various fruit juices if you wanted to mix your own drinks.

028

But, when you watch any sporting event at Staples Center, the highlight of the night has to be when the knock comes on the door signaling that the dessert cart has come to pay you a visit!  The dessert cart is literally what it sounds like, a cart that is filled to the brim with various desserts.  Desserts to tempt all palettes, even the most discerning ones.

034

For those trying to convince themselves that there are such things as a healthier dessert option, try your hand at this six layer carrot cake. Sinful!  There were also bags of gummy bears and M&M’s.  And that bottle you see there is for mini hollowed out chocolate cups that could be filled with dessert liquors such amaretto and Bailey’s for a sweet after dinner chocolate shot.  A few in our group went for those!

033

There was this beautiful peanut butter chocolate stack cake.  I was really tempted to go for a piece of this cake.  Peanut butter and chocolate is such a beautiful combination.  The dessert cart also had a refrigerated unit that carried ice cream that could be scooped to make an ice cream sundae with all of the fixings of chocolate sauce, butterscotch, whip cream, nuts and maraschino cherries.

035

And what about the gimme s’more cake?  That looked really appetizing as well. And do you spy those huge caramel apples and caramel apples with nuts?  A few people in our group opted for the apples, which one of the people operating the cart cut up in pieces with ease.  Those looked delectable.  How about the toffee crunch brownie bar?  I think if I could have, I would have wanted one of everything.  Rockslide brownie bar was also quite popular as was the delicious looking luscious lemon bar.

036

But ultimately, I asked for a piece of the root beer float cake a la mode. Come now, I can’t say no to ice cream!  I’d never even heard of a root beer float cake before, nor had I ever thought of that flavor combination for cake.  And I love root beer floats, so it’s only natural that I’d want to give this cake a try.  Boy, oh boy, this cake didn’t disappoint in the least.  The first bite of cake and it tasted exactly like a root beer float.  I don’t even know how they did it but I was blown away.  I made my husband taste the cake and he said “whoa!” after one bite, so he could obviously taste it as well.  I’m so glad I chose the root beer float cake as it was the perfect selection for me.

While I sat and enjoyed the game from the luxury suite we were so lucky to have for the evening, I contemplated what it would be like to live the suite life all the time!  Once you’ve enjoyed a sporting event from a luxury suite, it spoils you from really getting the full experience when you just show up to a game and have normal seats like everyone else.  If only I could always live the suite life.  Getting the opportunity to enjoy every now and then is better than not enjoying it at all.  The food, the game, the company, it was a fun night had by all!

Leave a Reply

