Skip to content

Haagen-Dazs at Stanley Market

September 27, 2013

Ok, I get that I’m traveling in a foreign country, halfway across the globe, but ice cream is ice cream.  It doesn’t matter where you are.  And on a muggy day where it feels like the temperatures are in the high 80s and humidity is through the roof, ice cream is like a tourists best friend.  Even if it’s not local, homemade ice cream.  Again, ice cream is ice cream.

007

After spending our first night onboard our cruise ship, we awoke early in the morning and headed off the ship for our last day exploring Hong Kong before the ship sailed out of the Victoria Harbour later in the afternoon.  We immediately took the Star Ferry across the Harbour and made our way to Central.  After doing a bit of shopping at the Stanley Market outdoor shopping area located on Hong Kong Island, my husband and I were walking out of the shopping area towards the bus depot when we spotted a small Haagen-Dazs ice cram shop.  We looked at each other and we knew we’d have to stop to buy some ice cream.

008

There were lots of unique flavors to choose from.  Flavors I’d not seen in the States before.  Caramel biscuit & cream?  What’s that.  Interesting flavor combination.  I liked that the flavors were labeled in English on the bottom and Chinese on the top.  Satisfies everyone’s abilities to understand what they are choosing from.  Banana chocolate brownie, also another flavor I’d never seen before, though, probably not as odd as caramel biscuit & cream.

009

Green tea is probably not a completely unique flavor, but that’s quite the color green in the ice cream.  While it’s not strange, it’s not a flavor you see at a lot of Haagen-Dazs locations here in the US.  Or mango passion fruit, also not a flavor I think I’ve seen back home.

005

Looking at the selection of ice cream choices, I knew exactly what I was going to order, banana chocolate brownie.  It’s banana ice cream.  How could I not choose that.  Brownies aren’t particularly my favorite thing, but nothing could deter me from my banana.  And boy, oh boy, was it delicious.  The brownie wasn’t really well mixed into the ice cream, so it wasn’t like chunks of brownie swirled in the ice cream.  Rather the brownie was mixed in so well it was like finding hidden pockets of chocolate sprinkled throughout my banana ice cream.  This afternoon treat really hit the spot for me.

006

My husband surprised me as I thought he was going to try the green tea ice cream.  Instead, he went with the mango passion fruit.  Like me, he thought that the mixture between the mango and passion fruit mixed in throughout the mango flavor was perfect.  The ice cream was slightly sweet, but not overpoweringly sweet with too much fruit nectar.  This was exactly the type of ice cream that my husband absolutely loves.  Ice cream that has the flavor of sorbet with fruit, but is creamy like ice cream.

This was our last meal, our last treat, before we headed from the bus depot back to Central, and took the Star Ferry back to Kowloon to hop back onboard our cruise ship.  This was our farewell to Hong Kong and the 4 days we spent in this wonderful place.  Full of memories and sights and sounds, Hong Kong is vibrant and full of life, and noise, and people, and beauty and everything you ever thought the city would be.  So long Hong Kong.  We’ll be back one day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

