Skip to content

Little Man Ice Cream

June 17, 2013

As you’ve heard me say many times on this blog, ice cream is one of my vices in life.  No matter the temperature outside, no matter how full I might be, there is absolutely no way that I would say no to ice cream.  I love ice cream.  Love it.  What’s not to love?  And I’ll eat ice cream any time of the day – morning for breakfast, midday for a lunch or a snack, in the evenings as dessert, or in the late evenings as a late night snack.  Ice cream is always good, no matter what.

While preparing for our long weekend trip to Denver, I scoured the Internet trying to find some good eats in Denver and one thing I kept coming across was rave reviews of a small, local ice creamery called Little Man Ice Cream.  After having read about it again and again, and seen other people comment that it was the best ice cream they’ve ever tried, I knew I had to try it for myself.  For months prior to our trip, I kept telling my husband that we had to go to Little Man Ice Cream, absolutely had to go.  It wasn’t even a matter of, hey, maybe if we have time we’ll stop by.  NO!  This was a matter of life-or-death, I absolutely needed to try Little Man Ice Cream.  In fact, a few days before our trip, I told my husband that if we only did one thing in Denver, it would be to go to Little Man Ice Cream.  Ok, so I’m a little crazy!

201

Located in the hip and trendy district of the Highlands, which is Northwest of Downtown Denver and across the Platte River, Little Man Ice Cream is located in Highlands Square which is considered one of the new “it” spots in Denver.  Little Man is instantly recognizable sitting right at the main intersection of Highlands Square with a giant old-fashioned milk jug as the “building” that houses the ice cream shop.  With employees wearing vintage uniforms, Little Man ensures the high quality of their ice cream by hand making its ice cream, sorbet and gelato flavors in small batches with quality, local ingredients.  There’s often a long line, day and night, of people waiting to get their hands on Little Man Ice Cream.

202

Because Little Man makes all of their ice creams in small batches, their multitude of flavors changes on a daily basis, and once one batch of ice cream is gone, it’s gone and replaced by another flavor.  On the day we went to Little Man, they offered some interesting and unique flavors I hadn’t seen at other ice cream shops before.  These flavors include: chocolate coconut gelato, pineapple sorbet, honey gelato – what a flavor that is, concord grape sorbet, chocolate chip orange gelato and orange sorbet.

203

There was also butter pecan ice cream, salted caramel peanut butter cup ice cream, chocolate cupcake ice cream, strawberry ice cream, chocolate ice cream, salted Oreo ice cream, root beer ice cream, rum raisin ice cream, and chocolate malt ice cream.  In fact, Little Man actually ran out of butter pecan ice cream while we were there and immediately replaced it with fluffer nutter which is ice cream made with a combination of peanut butter and marshmallow crème.  In addition to just ice cream scoops, Little Man also serves up malts, shakes, banana splits and fresh, homemade waffle cones.  All the ice cream possibilities under one roof, er milk jug.

204

After a short wait in line, it was finally our time to order.  My sister-in-law probably got the pretties combination of flavors!  She took a scoop of pineapple sorbet and a scoop of the concord grape sorbet on a cake cone.  She loved the concord grape sorbet.  Not only was it a pretty pinkish color, it was also delicious.  She wasn’t as impressed with the pineapple, but says that that it could have been because the flavor of the delicious concord grape sorbet washed out the flavor of the pineapple sorbet.

205

I went with a scoop of the chocolate cupcake ice cream and a scoop of the salted Oreo ice cream in a waffle cone.  I’ll start with the waffle cone, while it was good, I ran into a problem with it.  As it’s homemade, it wasn’t exactly sealed at the bottom of the cone, and had a hole big enough for drips of ice cream to start coming through.  I had a few drips onto my clothes and the ground before I realized I was leaking ice cream through the bottom of the waffle cone.  A wad of tissue papers couldn’t keep up because I couldn’t eat the ice cream fast enough.  Eventually, my waffle cone also suffered some structural integrity issues as part of the cone just collapsed on me.  That’s when I had to get a cup and transfer my ice cream into a cup to continue enjoying it.  On to the ice cream itself.  The chocolate cupcake ice cream was fantastic.  I’ve not seen or tasted anything similar to this ice cream.  The ice cream base tasted like a cake batter ice cream, but with smooth chocolate layered into the cake batter, and then a generous amount of rainbow sprinkles were mixed into the ice cream.  The ice cream was rich, smooth, creamy and full of flavor.  I would definitely order the chocolate cupcake ice cream again.  The salted Oreo is one of Little Man’s newest ice cream creations.  And as my brother-in-law, who ordered the salted caramel peanut butter cup ice cream said, “when they say salted, they mean salted.”  I don’t mind salt, but this really was quite salted.  I loved the concept of the salted Oreo, the ice cream base itself was fantastic, and the Oreos were plentiful, but the salt was just a bit too much as each bite of ice cream was salted.

206

My husband also decided to go with a waffle cone and took a scoop of the root beer ice cream and a scoop of the chocolate chip orange gelato.  Eventually, my husband also ended up with a bit of dripping out of the bottom of his waffle cone and needed to switch to turning over his waffle cone into a cup and finishing the ice cream that way.  My husband wasn’t completely impressed with the chocolate chip orange gelato, not because it wasn’t tasty, it was.  But his problem with it was that the orange flavor was very minimal and not very pronounced, so he felt more like he had ordered creamy chocolate chip gelato with a tiny, tiny hint of orange.  He would have liked the gelato a lot better with more of an orange accent to it.  However, he loved the root beer ice cream.  The root beer flavor tasted exactly like a strong root beer, which is what he likes.  He said he would order the root beer over and over again.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2013 2:15 pm

    I loved the grape! I would eat that again and again. The pineapple was good, too, but not as strong of a flavor as the grape 🙂

  2. July 11, 2013 4:43 am

    I think that honey would be nice to taste.

Leave a Reply

