Skip to content

Double Stuff Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookie

December 27, 2012

To be fair, this wasn’t my recipe, nor my idea.  I would never have thought of such a thing.  But I came across the idea and the recipe when someone else’s blog pointed me towards another blog with this recipe posted.  As soon as I saw the idea of baking an Oreo cookie inside of a chocolate chip cookie, I knew I had to try it.  To give credit where credit is due, this recipe belongs to the Picky Palate.  She’s got some amazing cookie ideas on her blog.  I think I might have to try out a few more recipes!

My husband, who isn’t even really a fan of Oreo cookies, actually told me that these cookies were “pretty good!”  To me, that’s a huge compliment.  I must be doing something right if I can get him to eat, and enjoy, something he’d never normally eat.  On top of not really liking Oreo cookies, he doesn’t even really like chocolate chip cookies.  Of course, when I told him I’d be trying a new cookie recipe for my Holiday Book Club Potluck, he told me “good luck”.  I don’t think he ever thought I’d pull off this recipe, nor that it would even turn out to be something edible.  Present me with a challenge, and I’ll make it happen.  Besides, how can it be bad to put an Oreo cookie inside of a chocolate chip cookie?  I like Oreos.  And I love chocolate chip cookies.  Seems a bit of a no brainer.

010

Let’s start with the ingredients.  The recipe requires 2 sticks of room temperature butter.  We’ll be creaming together butter and sugar and other goodies.  When creaming butter with anything, you really need to make sure that your butter is room temperature or else you’ll have a dough that breaks apart into pieces because the butter won’t cream.

005

You’ll need 2 whole eggs – yolk and whites.

006

Pure vanilla extract.  Ahhh, the good stuff.

003

The recipe requires 2 different types of sugars.  Let’s start with granulated white sugar.  You’ll need a cup.

002

Second sugar requirement is 3/4 cup packed light brown sugar.  When using either light or dark brown sugar in any recipe, always make sure to pack it in there.

007

Next some salt and baking soda.

008

All purpose flour.  You’ll need 3 1/2 cups of this stuff.  You’re making a lot of dough, after all, you’ll need a lot to be able to stuff a whole Oreo cookie inside of the chocolate chip cookie.

004

And what’s a chocolate chip cookie without semi-sweet chocolate chips?  It’s not!  The recipe calls for 10 oz.  This is a 12 oz. bag.  Though, I think you could get away with less.  And, after having made this recipe, I would say there are 2 things I’d change about the cookie when I make this again.  First, I’d actually use miniature semi-sweet chocolate chips rather than the regular size chip.  I found that using the regular size chips, I felt like I had to use extra dough to wrap the Oreo cookie since I kept running into huge chunks of chocolate chips.

If the ingredients I’ve laid out before seem like they are regular ingredients for a homemade chocolate chip cookie, well that’s exactly what this is.  Remember, this is an Oreo cookie stuffed inside a chocolate chip cookie.  So, naturally, you have to make the chocolate chip cookie first!

001

The final ingredient in this recipe is Oreo cookies.  The recipe called for double stuff Oreo cookies so that you get a nice creamy layer of the Oreo cream when you bite into the final cookie product.  I went out and got a package of double stuff Oreos.  However, as I mentioned before, there are 2 things I’d change when I make this recipe again; the first being miniature chocolate chips instead of regular chocolate chips.  The second thing I’d change is actually to use mini Oreo cookies instead of full size Oreo cookies.  I’ll explain more as we go along.

011

Start by making the chocolate chip cookie dough.  Drop 2 sticks of room temperature butter into the bowl of an electric stand mixer.

013

Turn on the mixer on low to break up the butter.  Slow add in the granulated white sugar and the light brown sugar.  Cream together the sugar and the butter to form a very creamy mixture.  Make sure all the sugar is incorporated into the butter.

015

Next add the eggs to the mixer.  Add them in one at a time until all the eggs are incorporated in to the batter.

017

My favorite ingredient, the pure vanilla extract comes next.  Just breath in the heavenly scent!

020

And now comes the messy part, add in the salt, baking soda and flour.  Slowly add in the flour a little bit at a time until it is incorporated into the dough.  If you dump in all the flour at once, all you’ll end up doing is getting flour dust all over the air and there will be more flour outside of your mixer bowl than inside it.  So, just slowly add it a little bit at a time, allow it to incorporate and then add more of it.

023

Last ingredient now for the chocolate chip cookie dough is the chocolate chips.  Add them directly into the mixer bowl.  Turn on the mixer on low and only long enough to incorporate the chocolate chips.  If you turn it on too high and too long, you’re basically going to obliterate your chocolate chips.

024

Take the whisk attachment out of the mixer and what you’re left with is your basic chocolate chip cookie dough.  Yum!  At this point, my husband would say that I should just stop because he enjoys the cookie dough more than the actual cookie itself.

026

Alright, it’s time to stuff the cookie dough now with the Oreo cookie.  This may sound complicated, but it’s super easy.  Take an Oreo cookie out of the package.  Take a heaping tablespoon of cookie dough out of the bowl, and roll it into a ball with the palms of your hands.  Place the ball of dough on top of the Oreo cookie.

027

Take a second heaping tablespoon full of cookie dough, roll it into a ball, and place the ball of dough on the underside of the Oreo cookie.  Now, you have an Oreo cookie with a ball of dough on top of it and below it.

028

Use your hands, and flatten out the cookie dough so it comes over the sides of the Oreo cookie.  Seal the edges of the cookie dough together and enclose the Oreo cookie completely inside the chocolate chip cookie dough.

030

Yes, you end up with a big old ball of chocolate chip cookie dough.  You basically end up with  golf ball-sized ball of dough, or maybe even bigger.  Don’t worry.  Place your ball of dough on a baking sheet lined with either wax paper or a silicone baking mat.  By the time I finished doing this, I was only able to fit 8 balls of dough onto one cookie sheet.

034

Place your baking sheet into a pre-heated 350 degree oven.  Depending on the size of your balls of dough, and how done you like your chocolate chip cookies, baking time will vary.  For me, it took 22 minutes for my cookies to finish baking, and that’s considering I like my cookies a little undercooked and soft.  When you pull it out of the oven, it’ll look like you have flying saucer-shaped chocolate chip cookies.  Other than the size of the cookie, you can’t even tell that there’s anything different about these cookies.

041

When I brought my cookies to my book club meeting for our potluck, everyone thought that I had just created giant-sized chocolate chip cookies.  It’s not until you bite into the cookie that you discover the surprising waiting inside the cookie for you.  I cut open a cookie at home so I could see it.  I probably didn’t cool the cookie down long enough because this isn’t the greatest picture ever, but you can see the Oreo cookie right there completely encased inside the chocolate chip cookie.

043

Here’s a wire rack full of double stuff Oreo stuffed chocolate chip cookies.  You can see how huge the chocolate chip cookies turn out.  It’s literally like the size of the lemons you see on the counter along with the cookies.  But the cookies come out tasting delicious, they are soft and chewy, just the way I like them.  And the Oreo cookie inside remains crunchy and the cream becomes a little soft.  Baking the Oreo cookie doesn’t cause it to lose its integrity at all.

036

After I had made 2 baking sheets full of these double stuff Oreo stuffed chocolate chip cookies, I still had a little bit of chocolate chip cookie dough left over, and a few Oreo cookies left.  Instead of making more flying saucers, I decided to try something different with the left over Oreos and dough.  I started by taking some cookie dough and rolling it into one inch diameter balls, much like I was doing before.  But this time, instead of stuffing the Oreo cookie inside the chocolate chip cookie, I took my left over Oreo cookies and broke them, by hand, into about 3 pieces per Oreo cookie.  I took the pieces of Oreo cookie nd just started stabbing it into the ball of cookie dough I made.  Randomly, the bits of Oreo cookie went into the dough ball, far enough that it would stick in place, but no so far that it got lost into the ball of cookie dough.  You want to be able to see that there are Oreo pieces sticking out of your chocolate chip cookie dough ball.

049

Again, place the balls of dough on a baking sheet lined with wax paper or a silicone baking mat and pop the baking sheet into the oven for about 12-15 minutes and let the cookie dough bake.  When the cookies are baked, what you get is a fat chocolate chip cookie with pieces of Oreo cookie sticking out of it in all sorts of weird angles.  It looks a little weird, but is delicious, nonetheless.  As with the baked Oreo in the Oreo stuffed chocolate chip cookie, the Oreo doesn’t lose it’s integrity in the baking process even after exposed to the heat of the oven.  The bits of Oreo cookie remain crunchy and the texture of it against the chocolate chip cookie creates a nice contrast.  It’s a great alternative to stuffing the chocolate chip cookie, you get a similar result, but with less effort and time.

Either way, if you’re a fan of Oreo cookies and chocolate chip cookies, you have to try this truly unique recipe.  It’s fun, and creative, and the results will blow people away.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2012 10:24 am

    I am not really a huge fan of chocolate chip cookies or Oreos, but this looks pretty interesting. I bet my chocolate chip cookie loving husband could put away quite a few of those 🙂

  2. December 27, 2012 5:39 pm

    Anyone who is an Oreo lover will be crazy about this cookie.

Leave a Reply

