Skip to content

Holiday Book Club Potluck

December 17, 2012

This past January, at my old job, a couple of co-workers decided to start a book club.  They asked me if I had any interest in joining in with them, to which I replied enthusiastically.  This past year has been a great one for the book club.  We’ve read a bunch of incredible books, books we’ve all admitted we’d probably not read on our own if it hadn’t been a book club selection.  And we’ve had a great time getting together once a month to discuss the book, hang out with each other, and just discuss something other than work.  For me, personally, it’s been a great way to build a closer relationship with my co-workers, now former co-workers.  You see, in the middle of October, I left that job to help start a brand new business.  It was hard for me to say goodbye to my co-workers.  I knew immediately that one of the things I’d miss the most was the being a part of the book club we had formed.  I had asked the members of the book club if they could at least email me with that month’s book selection so that I could at least follow along on my own.  However, while I had switched jobs, my temporary office for my new job was actually just around the corner from my old job.  And my old co-workers thought, hey, if I’m still going to be in the neighborhood, why couldn’t I still join them every month for book club?  So, while I’m no longer working at that company, I can still be apart of the fun and the camaraderie and share in our mutual love of books!

Last month, at our monthly meeting, I had brought up the idea of perhaps doing a cookie exchange for our December meeting since I knew the meeting would be close to the holidays.  However, most of the people in the book club either didn’t bake or weren’t interested in baking.  So the suggestion was made that we should do a potluck for our December meeting.  We all instantly agreed, thinking that it would be a great way to celebrate the coming holidays.  One member of the group agreed to make the main dish and we all went from there volunteering other dishes.

028

We started off with some bread rolls and butter!  Sorry about the quality of the photo!  There was bad light in the room.  Anyhow, lots of bread rolls and lots of butter, and some of us joked that we could have just been fine with bread and butter!  Butter makes everything better.

024

Someone else contributed by making a really delicious cheese ball.  It was cheddar cheese and bacon and a bit of cream cheese and rolled in bread crumbs.  Spread it out over triscuit crackers. It was amazing!  You could really taste the bacon through the cheese ball!

029

Someone else brought in broasted chicken which was absolutely amazing!  The skin was crispy and tasty and the meat was juicy and flavorful.  I think the whole box of broasted chicken disappeared!  Broasting is a technique used mostly on chicken, whereby chicken is pressure fried instead of deep-fried.  The results are a healthier, but still super delicious chicken.

026

One of my former co-workers, who is an amazing cook made our main dish of wonderful pasta. I didn’t ask her what kind of pasta noodles she used, but I’m going to guess that it was giant penne noodles.  It certainly had the ridges like penne.  combined with a wonderful meaty red sauce, it was flavorful and amazing.  But everything she makes is amazing!

027

One of the girls made a side dish of green beans, southern style with potatoes.  I must say, I hate green beans, but I did try some of her green beans and I found the flavors to be amazing.  It didn’t even really taste like green beans.  And that’s saying a lot since I generally can’t eat green beans without wanting to gag.  Another one of the girls brought in mashed potatoes as a side dish as well.  We were all over the culinary map with our food!

022

Finally, the meal ended with dessert!  The lone guy in our book club made a cake – in fact, it was his first time ever baking a cake!  He used good old-fashioned – time-tested Duncan Hines yellow cake with chocolate frosting.  And if you see a piece missing from the cake, he took a piece out when he was done to sample it to make sure it would be ok to bring to the office!  Job really well done for his first time making the cake!

023

Then there were the cookies!  I brought in some festive peanut butter cookies (which I’ll blog about in the next few days), as well as 2 varieties of Oreo and chocolate chip cookies (again, something I’ll blog about in the weeks to come).  Another co-worker, in fact the one that made the cheese ball, brought in her speciality chocolate chip and Reese’s peanut butter cup cookies that she’s made for other events at the office that are fabulous!

If the holiday season is about coming together and sharing good times with friends and family, and doing it all over food that we all contributed to making and bringing in, well then this was a successful event for us.  It was great to spend some time with my former co-workers, laugh and reminisce!  Happy Holidays!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2012 8:03 am

    It sounds like you had a great potluck…must have been fun.

Trackbacks

  1. Double Stuff Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookie « Ducky's Always Hungry

Leave a Reply

