Skip to content

Cruise Day 6 – Dinner

October 30, 2012

It’s hard to believe that the cruise is almost done.  Today, day 6 of our 7 day cruise was spent in the medieval town of Tallinn, Estonia.  We woke up to some overcast skies, and as we docked in Tallinn, the skies started to open up and the rain began to fall.  We were greeted with a down pouring of rain, but that soon gave way to a cool and windy, but nice day in Tallinn.  We had a terrific time walking around the city, looking at the old city wall, climbing up to the Upper Old Town, and finally taking a tour of the Bastion Passages.  But, by the time we’d finished exploring the town, it was time to head back to the ship.  We were so busy walking around Tallinn that we didn’t have time to grab a bite to eat and needless to say, by the time we made it to dinner, we were famished!  So, we were really looking forward to dinner tonight!

I think I’ve failed to mention that each night at dinner, before we get started with our meal, we are presented with a bread basket to choose from.  In that bread basket, there are some breads that are made fresh each day for that night’s dinner; for instance, there’s always sourdough bread.  But each day, there are also two additional breads that change from day-to-day so you can try out different breads.  Most of the time, I’m unadventurous and just take the sourdough bread.  But, tonight was a different night.  There wasn’t just bread, but there were muffins, banana muffins to be exact.  And if you know me, you know that bananas are something I love.  If it has bananas in it, I’ll eat it.  So, naturally, I asked for 2 banana muffins!  And boy were they good.

Now that the bread was settled, I could get to the business at hand of focusing on tonight’s menu options.  Here is the Vitality and Alternative Selections menu.

This is tonight’s starters menu.  I think I can live with this.  Although, it’s hard to go wrong with the food on the ship when you have such a wide variety to choose from!

My husband wasn’t original going to order the creamed wild mushroom in puff pastry, except that I mentioned to him that my dad had tried this dish on a previous cruise and he had liked it.  I think my husband figured, what the heck, I’ll give it a try.  He later admitted that it was actually pretty good and he’s glad he ordered it.  I would guess so since he ate the entire thing!

I ordered the house salad and had it topped with the raspberry vinaigrette.  The salad just ended up being ok, nothing too special about it.  It wasn’t nearly as outstanding as the salad I had eaten the previous night at Chops Grille.  Then again, there’s a reason that’s a specialty restaurant and this is the dining room.

My husband also decided to order the double duck consumme.  Unfortunately, my husband thought the broth in the soup was a little too bland.  It really needed a kick of flavor.  I think it was probably similar to the oxtail soup and the oxtail and potato soup that I had ordered earlier in the cruise.  The dish just needed an extra little bit of flavor.

There were some really great selections to choose from for our entrees this evening.  My husband and I each zeroed in on something right away that appealed to us.

My husband went with the Chef’s Recommended dish of Roasted Thai Herb-Crusted Chicken Breast.  I think as soon as he saw something on the dish that said it was Thai, he was sold.  In the end, he liked the dish, but didn’t love it.  He thought that the chicken breast was flavorful, but he wished that it was spicier.  The herb crust used was done well, but my husband thought that perhaps if they put chili flakes or some other sort of spice in the dish it would have made it better.  But it’s certainly understandable that they can’t make the dish overly spicy when they make tons of it and serve it on a cruise because not everyone will enjoy the spice.

For my entrée, I ordered the Pan-Fried Giant Shrimp served on a bed of mashed potatoes alongside some wilted greens and mushrooms.  The shrimps were huge!  Giant was certainly the name for the size of the shrimp they used.  The dish was flavorful and the shrimp perfectly cooked.  This was one of my favorite dishes from the entire cruise.  I was surprised that there were 6 giant shrimp on my dish as I thought that was a lot of shrimp.  I later learned that the waiter thought that my husband would want some of the shrimp, so he actually gave me a double serving of shrimp so we could share it together.  I had no idea and I couldn’t figure out why there was so much shrimp!

It was finally time for dessert.  The best part of any meal!  This time around, my husband and I actually chose the same dessert.  It’s not hard to understand why when the dessert we chose was called Dessert Sampler.  It was a sample of three of the more popular desserts offered through the cruise, but in small bite-sized forms.  The three desserts to sample were a chocolate cake, a cheesecake, and the savarin.  So delectable on the plate and even tastier in my mouth!

My husband also got a few scoops of strawberry ice cream to go with dessert.  After all, everything goes down better with ice cream to finish off a meal.

6 dinner meals complete, only 1 dinner meal left on the cruise.  But, tomorrow night’s dinner meal is also our  final formal night on the cruise, so you can bet we’re going to get some special items on the menu.  Can’t wait!  It’s amazing how quickly time flies when you’re having fun.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2012 4:51 am

    I had to chuckle at the thought of ice cream to go along with the dessert sampler…”everything goes better with ice cream”. I think you are right.

Leave a Reply

