Skip to content

Outmayer Amsterdam

September 20, 2012

A few weeks back, my husband and I found ourselves in Amsterdam.  Ok, that doesn’t sound right.  We didn’t just happen to find ourselves there, we flew to Amsterdam as part of a vacation we were taking.  After having flown a total of 12 hours, and having moved forward 9 hours in time, we had 23 hours in Amsterdam.  So, jet lag or not, we couldn’t just go and collapse at our hotel.  We had no choice but to hit the ground running!  Naturally, after all that travel, and time spent walking around the city we needed a bit of a pick-me-up to keep us going.  Not to mention that it was hot and humid the day we were in Amsterdam, which we were told was quite unusual for that time of year to be that hot.

As we were walking on the Kalverstraat, a pedestrian shopping street in Amsterdam, just beyond Dam Square, we passed by a store that had the most incredible looking display cases filled with treats that could give anyone a sugar rush.  I told my husband we just HAD to stop!  I needed to sample these delectable goods after all.  I couldn’t pass up an opportunity like this.

This amazing place was called Outmayer Amsterdam.  They call themselves a croissanterie-patisserie koffie-corner.  To me, that translates to nothing but yumminess!  Outmayer has 2 stores in Amsterdam that have been in operation since 1983.  And with the displays they have, it’s easy to see why they’ve been in busy this long.  They served everything from tarts to donuts, to waffles, to flatbreads to sandwiches.  The possibilities were limitless.

How do you walk by a display like this and not do a double take?  To me, that’s just calling my name!  Um, all take one of everything, please?

Are you kidding me?  I’m tired, weary and hot.  I haven’t had a good meal in what seems like 24 hours now.  I’m in Amsterdam.  You can bet that my eyes were bigger than my stomach.

What caught my eye specifically were the waffles.  Ok, so I know I’m not in Belgium, but that doesn’t mean that waffles in The Netherlands couldn’t be good.  And waffles with chocolate drizzled over them?  Yes!  I’ll have one!  That’s what I promptly ordered.  And the lady behind the counter asked me if I wanted it to be heated in the oven or just enjoyed the way it was.  After thinking about it for 2 seconds and realizing that heating it meant that I’d have nice warm, liquid chocolate, I went for the heating option.

While I waited for my chocolate waffle to warm up, I had to peruse through the rest of the display case.  I guess I could have gone with the plain waffle idea.  Heck, I’m on vacation, a little chocolate drizzled over my waffle won’t kill me!

But, wait, those fruit tarts look so good.  I know my husband was spying them.  The tart looked amazing, and the fruit looked so fresh, and you could tell that was homemade whipped cream on top.  I probably should have asked to have some boxed up so we could have taken some back to the hotel to enjoy later in the evening!

So, my husband passed on the fruit tarts, but what did catch his eye were bottles of fresh-squeezed orange juice.  He had a friend once who traveled to Amsterdam and told him that the orange juice was amazing.  So, when my husband spied the orange juice, he just had to get his hands on one.  They pulled a cold bottle of it out of the refrigerator for him.  He took one swig and he was in heaven.  Over the moon about how delicious and wonderful the fresh-squeezed orange juice was.  He told me to try some, and as soon as I tasted it, I knew what he meant.  It was so fresh, and delicious.  Just the right amount of sweet without the sugar.  My husband called it the best orange juice he’s ever had in his life.

After waiting a few minutes, my chocolate waffle was finally done.  Steaming hot and fresh out of the oven.  It was crispy, sweet, but not overly so, and delicious!  But, wow, one chocolate waffle was quite filling!

Our only regret with Outmayer is that when we left, we never asked them what time they were closing.  After having such a good experience in the afternoon at Outmayer, we decided we’d go back again in the evening and get a treat.  However, around 7 pm as we trekked back to their store, they were sadly closed!  And then we flew out-of-town the next morning so we never had an opportunity to go back!  Oh well, that just means next time I find myself in Amsterdam, I’ll have to get to Outmayer and try some of their other decadent treats!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

