Skip to content

Snuffy’s Malt Shop

July 9, 2012

Ever yearn for that old fashioned diner experience?  One that feels authentic, and not the type of experience you get at Ruby’s which feels a bit contrived?  For me, I got that old fashioned diner experience at Snuffy’s Malt Shop in St. Paul, Minnesota.  For a late lunch meal, myself, my husband, my sister- and brother-in-law were trying to figure out where we could grab some food before making the 3 hour drive north to my husband’s childhood home.  Somehow, we had it in our heads that we wanted to grab ice cream, or shakes or along those lines.  We hadn’t eaten lunch and it was late in the afternoon, but instead of thinking of real food, we were thinking of dessert.  Go figure!  Mind you, it had been pouring rain on and off most of the day, so the conditions were kind of dreary.  We had originally considered a popular ice cream shop in St. Paul, but it was located on a busy street, and trying to find parking, and run into the store while it was raining wasn’t our idea of fun, so my brother-in-law suggested Snuffy’s Malt Shop.  Not knowing what it was, my husband and I went along with the plan.

Snuffy’s is a local Minnesota eatery that has won local awards and acclaim for “best milkshakes,” “best family-family restaurant,” and “best burger.”  You walk into the door and you the local neighborhood diner feel.  There are teenagers busing tables, working the grill, behind the cash register, there are booths and tables to sit at, the walls are decorated with local sports teams photos and trophys.  The place is warm, friendly and inviting.

Though we had said we were coming here for shakes and malts, we actually decided that since hadn’t eaten, we should probably order some food as well.  As soon as we all took a look at the menu, we quickly zeroed in on a couple of items we decided to share.

We started off with a family size order of onion rings.  Surprisingly, even though the basket doesn’t look that big, it was more than enough for the 4 of us to share.  The onion rings were hot out of the fryer, crispy and flavorful.  for me, the batter was well done, and you could still taste the onions.  It wasn’t over battered or over cooked.

My sister-in-law and I decided to share an order of chili cheese fries, but in the end all 4 of us ended up having some.  I’m a sucker for chili cheese fries and these ones were good.  They used both cheese sauce and grated cheddar cheese on the fries.  I really like the combination of using both.  The chili was also very good; it had some great flavor, but was not overpowering and spicy for the fries.  And the portion was a very decent size.

Of course, you can’t come to a place called Snuffy’s Malt Shop and not order a malt, right?  They had 20 different flavors of malts, along with a menu full of other diner-style treats: flavored sodas, floats and sundaes.  As soon as I perused through the menu, I knew exactly which flavor I was going to be ordering – Chocolate-Banana.  I’m a huge sucker for anything banana flavored.  Put banana and chocolate together and you’ve got me by the collar!  My husband ordered a fudge-scotchie flavored malt which is a combination of fudge and butterscotch.  They brough the malts to the table in an old-fashioned float cup and they actually brought us the silver cups for leftovers that they made the malts in!  I love places that do that.  So, essentially, with one order, you get two full glasses of malt!  And the malt was delicious!  Creamy, thick and full of flavor.  I loved it!

Sometimes, it’s the little things that remind you of a different time, a different place.  I loved the down home feel of Snuffy’s Malt Shop, and their food was homestyle and delicious to boot.  This was the perfect place to go to for an afternoon pick me up on a really rain, and dreary day.  This provided the fuel we needed for our 3 hour car journey to come!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 11, 2012 6:36 am

    Oh…a malt shop. I didn’t think that there were any around today. I can see why you enjoyed your afternoon visit there.

Leave a Reply

