Skip to content

Dave’s Pizza

July 5, 2012

When I visited my husband’s home town last year for the first time, I heard about Dave’s Pizza.  One evening, there was discussion over what to have for dinner and Dave’s was mentioned.  Having never been to this small, Northern Minnesota town of just about 9,000 residents, I had no idea what Dave’s Pizza was.  Obviously, I deduced that this was a place that served pizza; that much I understood.  We didn’t end up having Dave’s Pizza that night, but I had heard my brother- and sister-in-law mention that before they left they wanted to swing by Dave’s and pick up some frozen pizzas to take home and store in their own freezer.  At that point, I figured, Dave’s Pizza must be something if 2 people who live in the metropolis of St. Paul, want to take pizza from Northern Minnesota back to St. Paul with them because they can’t find anything as good back home.  My brother- and sister-in-law mentioned that they always try to have a couple of Dave’s frozen pizzas in their freezer and generally try to eat at Dave’s Pizza when they are up in Northern Minnesota.

Ok, so I didn’t end up sampling any of Dave’s Pizza when we visited last year.  But, I told my husband before we were set to visit this year that I wanted to try Dave’s.  He tried to downplay Dave’s and said, oh it’s just pizza, nothing special.  I think he just didn’t want me to have something built up in my mind only to be disappointed by it.

Turns out, on our first full day at my husband’s family home, not only was I thinking Dave’s pizza, but my sister- and brother-in-law were thinking Dave’s as well!  Great minds think alike.  I found out that Dave’s doesn’t open until 4 pm, and it’s strictly a carry out or delivery pizza joint.  In order to fully enjoy our Dave’s experience, we all decided not to eat anything that day and wait until we could order dinner.

I came to discover that what Dave’s does is make large, super-thin, extra-crispy pizza’s.  The crust is so thin, and then perfectly cooked to a crispy perfection.  The pizza’s are large, have lots of cheese, and aren’t overpowered by the toppings you choose or the tomato sauce.  As soon as my brother-in-law arrived back at the houses with the 6 pizzas we ordered, everyone dove in for some!

For my pizza, I had ordered pepperoni, bacon and onions.  I know, I’ve got some weird taste.  What I love about the pizza, is that most of the toppings are actually put on top of the tomato sauce and hidden underneath the cheese.  So, when you bite into a slice, you can taste the pepperoni, bacon and onions, but just looking at the pizza you can’t see it.

But, apparently, I’m the only person who likes onions, since someone else ordered an onion only pizza.  I know this pizza looks exactly like the pizza before it, but I swear, they are two different pizzas.  The toppings are just hidden!

My husband ordered his favorite pizza toppings: Canadian bacon and pineapple.  He’s a huge fan of pineapples, so putting pineapples as a pizza topping is a no brainer for him!

Here’s a pizza where you can clearly see some of the toppings.  This is a sausage, pepperoni and mushroom pizza.  I’m not a big mushroom or sausage fan, so I stayed away from this pizza.

What I really loved about Dave’s pizza is the fact that they cut up their pizzas into tiny 2 or 3 bite slices.  So you take a bunch of slices off the pizza and start chomping away.  Pop it into your mouth and taste the cheesy pizza goodness.  The crunch of the crispy crust along with the melty cheese and terrific toppings make Dave’s Pizza a real winner in my book.  I absolutely loved Dave’s and I loved how they make their pizzas.  Next time we come back to visit, I’ll have to suggest that we pick up Dave’s Pizza again!  You just can’t go wrong.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    July 5, 2012 8:32 am

    I love Dave’s! We had frozen Dave’s for dinner last night, and it was delicious. My brother never cared for it too much, but Dave’s has a very devoted fan base among those of us who have grown up eating it, and it’s not unusual to see someone post on Facebook that they are having Dave’s and get about 20-30 responses all saying “jealous!” My husband, who obviously did NOT grow up on Dave’s, loves the stuff, and whenever we go home we have to have it because it’s his favorite pizza. I’m glad you liked it.

    • July 5, 2012 9:10 am

      I don’t understand how your brother isn’t that big of a fan. I loved it! Super delicious. Next time we’re in Virginia, you can bet I’m going to want to have Dave’s again!

Leave a Reply

