Skip to content

Unnamed Dessert

March 8, 2012

Unnamed dessert was my husband’s suggestion for the name of this dessert for which I couldn’t come up with a clever name.  I could have called it peanut butter-nutella-and banana crepe, but then that’s kind of long and steals all the thunder out of the dessert.  But, trying to call it something less than that wouldn’t really capture the essence of what the dessert was.  And since I pretty much came up with the idea of making my dessert this way, well I had the freedom to name it what I wanted to.  So, the name that was chosen was unnamed dessert.  Catchy, huh?

Alright, instead of focusing on the name of the dessert, let’s focus on the dessert itself.  This dessert requires 4 items and takes less than 5 minutes to make!  The 4 ingredients are: flour tortillas, creamy peanut butter, nutella and banana.  Simple and easy.

The inspiration for making this dessert came from watching an episode of Giada at Home with Giada de Laurentiis.  She made banana and nutella fried raviolis.  While I had tasted nutella before, I never bought any because I never knew what to do with it.  But watching that episode gave me the idea to combine bananas and nutella together.  And since I love bananas, I’m always looking for new things I can do with bananas.  When I had suggested getting nutella at the store with my husband, he had balked at the idea and had absolutely no interest in it; apparently a chocolate hazelnut spread didn’t appeal to him.  One day, when it was on sale at the market and my husband wasn’t there, I purchased a jar of it and brought it home.  I happened to melt some nutella and drizzle it over banana slices one night and gave some to my husband to try.  He loved it and wondered when I had the time to melt chocolate chips.  I told him it wasn’t chocolate chips, but rather nutella.  He couldn’t believe it.  He finally realized that nutella was a lot better than he had thought it was.

As I thought about the combination of nutella and bananas and tried to figure out what I could do for a dessert, I came up with my unnamed creation and decided to give it a try without any idea of how it would turn out.  If nutella and bananas were a good combination, and bananas and peanut butter are the perfect pair (after all, if Elvis loved it, it must be a good pairing), and chocolate and peanut butter work well together, well then the combination of all 3 items together must be heaven.  Wrap it all up in a warm, softened tortilla and you’ve got yourself the unnamed peanut butter-nutella-and banana crepe!

Start by slicing some bananas.  You don’t want the slices to be too thick that it makes the crepe hard to fold later on.  But you also don’t want sliver-thin bananas either that start to fall apart.  You want the bananas to still have some volume to them so that when you bite into the crepe you can taste the bananas.  If you have left over banana slices, you can always use them to garnish the plate your serve your dessert on.

Take your jar of nutella and heat it up in the microwave for 15-20 seconds.  Since the spread in the jar is in a somewhat solid state, and you want to be able to drizzle the nutella over the dessert, it’s easiest if you heat up the jar slightly before you begin so you can get the nutella in a state that’s more liquid.  Nutella is a hazelnut spread that was created in the 1940s by Pietro Ferrero of the Ferrero Company (think Ferrero Rocher).  During this time period, cocoa (and subsequently chocolate) was in short supply due to World War II rationing.  So Ferrero decided to use hazelnuts, which were plentiful in the Piedmont region of Italy, in order to extend the chocolate supply.  Nutella is essentially made with a combination of roasted hazelnuts, skim milk and a tiny hint of cocoa.  Nutella looks like spreadable chocolate, but it doesn’t taste anything like it.  If you’ve never tried it, give it a try, you, like my husband, might change your mind!

Tine to start assembling the dessert.  Spread some creamy peanut butter over one side of a flour tortilla.  Put the tortilla onto a slightly heated flat top griddle to allow it to warm.  The peanut butter will start to melt a little bit, that’s exactly what you want.

When the peanut butter has gotten a little melty, lay the banana slices right on top of the peanut butter.  Even if you’re like me, and you love bananas, try not to cover the entire surface of the tortilla with banana slices, only because it will make it more difficult to fold the tortilla and turn it into a “crepe”.

The last step is to take the nutella and drizzle it all over the bananas and the peanut butter.  You want to make sure to get a good amount of nutella.  The nutty hazelnut flavor combining with the bananas and the peanut butter is perfect.  Plus it looks pretty too!

Now, fold your tortilla over so that you it’s kind of in thirds but wider on the top than on the bottom.  Kind of like the picture above.  You’ve now turned your tortilla into a “crepe”, if not in reality, at least in looks!

So, from the outside it doesn’t look like the most appealing thing.  But, just wait until you take a bite of your crepe.  The warm melty peanut butter, the chocolate-hazelnut nutella and the smooth and creamy banana is a perfect trifecta of flavors, textures and colors.  This unnamed dessert, that take 5 minutes to make, and four ingredients, is a sure-fire winner!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    March 8, 2012 1:26 pm

    I’ve never tried Nutella, but I think it looks good. I just never knew what to do with it, really. My husband doesn’t think it sounds good, either, but he isn’t really a chocolate fan. Which, whatever, can I help it if he has an unrefined palatte? Anyway, thanks for the great ideas.

    • March 8, 2012 2:03 pm

      That was my problem too, I never knew what to do with nutella. But then I saw some stuff on TV and realized it was pretty versatile. My husband doesn’t like chocolate either, and he wasn’t keen on Nutella t all. I don’t think he loves it now, but he certainly doesn’t mind it now. I think the nut factor in it helps.

  2. Amanda permalink
    March 8, 2012 2:08 pm

    We just need to tell our husbands, “Dude, trust me on this.” Did I tell you I have taken to watching the Food Network on Saturday mornings? Just for a couple hours usually – I get up and work on cleaning or sewing projects and watch a little Food Network.

    • March 8, 2012 2:57 pm

      My husband doesn’t allow me to watch the Food Network on Saturday mornings. He doesn’t support the Pioneer Woman! Ha! But that’s great that you’re up early on Saturday’s watching the Food Network and working on projects! I swear, I could make a living out of just working on all sorts of projects! If only…..

  3. Malou permalink
    March 8, 2012 11:30 pm

    You’re so creative in the kitchen, Alisa! This looks wonderful! 😉

    • March 9, 2012 2:38 pm

      Thank you! I don’t know that I’m really that creative, but it’s fun to come up with new ideas and then just go for it!

Leave a Reply

