Skip to content

Serendipity III

November 4, 2011

I think that because of the movie “Serendipity” the eatery, Serendipity III, has gained worldwide fame.  In fact, at Serendipity III’s original location in Manhattan, I’ve heard the servers telling guests exactly which table Jon Cusack and Kate Beckinsale were sitting at in the movie.  But, Serendipity III has actually been around a lot longer than the movie has.  In fact, it was 3 partners with $300 that bought a basement space in a tenement in East Fifty-Eight Street in Manattan.  This location became New York City’s first coffee house boutique.  The place was booming and soon had a line forming around the corner nightly.  Eventually, Serendipity III expanded beyond coffee to serve food and all sorts of diabolical chocolate concoctions.

Today, Serendipity III remains ever popular.  So much so, they’ve even expanded out to a location at Las Vegas’ Caesar’s Palace.  Their famous frozen hot chocolate is known the world over.  Their other food and dessert dishes are so extravagant, so outrageous, so humongous that they need to be experienced in person to appreciate them.

In 2007, I took a trip to Manhattan to visit a friend of mine.  I had it in my head that I wanted to try Serendipity III because I had heard so many things about it.  But, my friend, who lives in New York, warned me that the line for the restaurant tends to be very, very long, and since they don’t take reservations, getting a table could be difficult.  It turned out, the day we were thinking of going, it was raining, and right around lunch time, we called the restaurant to see how long the wait for a table was.  After having spoken to them, and having been told that the current wait time was 1 hour, we decided we would forego waiting in the rain.  unfortunately, I never made it to Serendipity during that trip to New York.

In 2008, I went to New York on a trip with my parents.  Having seen the movie themselves, they wanted to try Serendipity as well.  We said that this time, we’d go and wait in line, no longer how long the wait.  But, we got smart.  Instead of going during lunch time, we decided to plan it so that we would go to Serendipity III during an off time hoping for a shorter line.  To our surprise, when we arrived in the middle fo the afternoon, we had no more than a 5 minute wait.  Score!

The restaurant itself is so cute and quaint.  From their original location, the restaurant has actually moved to a 2 story brownstone around the corner.  It’s decorated in an old Victorian style with tiny tables and seating for a very limited number of people downstairs and upstairs.  When you get upstairs, there’s a fireplace and some windows with a cozy view.  Somehow, coming to this location makes you feel like you’re walking into someone’s home to join them for food and fun.

The first time I was there with my parents, we didn’t understand the lay of the land and were overwhelmed by the menu choices.  Since it was the afternoon and we had already had lunch, we decided that we were just going to order desserts to share.  After having placed our order, we were embarrassed to be told by the waiter that we’d have to order something else because there was a minimum per person order amount at the restaurant and we hadn’t met that threshold.  Luckily, our waiter was really nice about it.  We quickly rectified our predicament by changing our original order from a Coward’s Portion Banana Split to an Outrageous Banana Split.

After having enjoyed so many yummy desserts there during my first trip to the store, I was smitten with it and knew that every time after that I came to New York City for a trip, I’d have to make a stop at Serendipity III.  I’ve been lucky to go back once more with my parents in 2009 and once with my then-boyfriend, now-husband in 2010.  Since that time, I’ve also taken a trip out to Las Vegas in June 2011 and was more than happy to make a stop at Serendipity III’s new location at Caesar’s Palace.

By far, for me, the best thing I’ve had at Serendipity III is their Frrrozen Hot Chocolate, which is a blend of 14 different kinds of cocoa blended with milk and ice.  It comes out in a huge, and I mean, HUGE, glass cup (really a bowl!) that’s overflowing with frozen hot chocolate on to the serving plate with the whole thing topped with whipped cream and chocolate shavings.  It’s perfect for a couple of people to dip their straws in and drink up!  Their banana splits are also amazing!  As I mentioned, they have a Coward’s Portion and an Outrageous portion.  It’s made with the lenthwise-sliced bananas, vanilla and chocolate ice cream, and then topped with lush melty, chocolately, chocolate sauce, topped with whole sticky, crunchy walnuts, and tons of whip cream with rainbow sprinkles and a cherry on top!  If you like banana splits, this one is a real winner!

I admit that I’ve never been to Serendipity to have any of their food.  For me, it’s all about the desserts!  What’s wrong with that?  Believe me, I’ll never go to New York City without visiting Serendipity!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2011 10:10 am

    i had the frozen hot chocolate when i went there…awesome!

Trackbacks

  1. Banana Split Dazzler | Ducky's Always Hungry

Leave a Reply

