Skip to content

Sprinkles Cupcakes

September 28, 2011

The cupcake bakery that started the whole cupcake craze is Sprinkles Bakery.  Sprinkles has expanded from its original location in Beverly Hills to 11 locations in total nationwide.  They call themselves the “original cupcake bakery”, Food Network calls them the “world’s first cupcake bakery”, you can just call them delicious.  Pint-sized deliciousness rolled into a cupcake!

According to their website, Sprinkles describes themselves as follows: “Sprinkles Cupcakes are handcrafted from the finest ingredients, including sweet cream butter, bittersweet Belgian chocolate, pure Madagascar Bourbon vanilla, fresh bananas and carrots, real strawberries and natural citrus zests. Topped with Sprinkles trademark modern dots, rich chocolate sprinkles from France or seasonal sugar decorations, Sprinkles gourmet cupcakes are a deliciously sophisticated update on an American classic.”

And while they may just be a simple cupcake bakery that professes to have some of the best cupcakes in the world, you’ll certainly feel the weight of their yummy deliciousness in your pocket book.  At $3.50 a cupcake, or $39 a dozen, these cupcakes don’t come cheap.  But, if you ever find yourself near a Sprinkles, and you’ve never had one before, they are definitely worth a try.

Personally, my favorite flavor is banana.  Unfortunately, for me, banana is only made 3 times a week!  There’s been times, I’ve arrived at the shop 20 or 30 minutes prior to closing on the day they served banana only to find out that they’ve run out of banana for the day! DOH!  Their banana cupcake comes in 2 different options: “fresh banana cake with creamy vanilla or bittersweet chocolate frosting”.  And really, I don’t think you could go wrong with either!  I’m also a fan of their black and white, vanilla milk chocolate and red velvet cupcakes.

My husband seems to really like the chai latte, ginger lemon, lemon and lemon coconut cupcakes.  And lucky him, at his work they have clients who have Sprinkles cupcakes delivered to their office as a gift!  Can’t say no to free Sprinkles!

One of the unique aspects of Sprinkles cupcakes is their super creamy and flavorful frosting.  To me, who is a frosting fiend, its reason enough alone to get a cupcake.  Sprinkles is wise to the fact that they make some darn good frosting that they actually sell frosting shots!  Score!  And for all the animal lovers out there, they actually make doggie cupcakes!  Not sure how good they actually are for your dog, but I guess the option is there. 

With 22 regularly rotating flavors of cupcakes, with a few special seasonal cupcake flavors thrown in, as well as gluten-free and vegan cupcakes, there’s something to for everyone at the bakery.  It’s easy to see why Sprinkles has become so popular, even amongst the Hollywood celebrities.  I’ve actually waited in line before to get my hands on a Sprinkles cupcake.  And while I would say it’s a bit extreme, the minute I’m able to dive into one of their yummy cupcakes, it’s really completely worth it!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    October 12, 2011 2:17 pm

    I’m not really a cake person, but I married someone who says their favorite food, hands down, is cake. I may be visiting a gourmet cupcake bakery here soon, which is something I’ve never done before. I don’t know how I’ll choose….

    • October 12, 2011 2:35 pm

      This is another way you and Sam are the same. He is not a cake person at all. Cake is generally all me. And I can’t say no to cake. But, Sam does love Sprinkles, but probably because they come in flavors he likes, such as lemon, coconut and chai tea. Just choose flavors based on what Greg likes to eat normally! Or what you like!

  2. Amanda permalink
    October 12, 2011 7:21 pm

    It’s actually for my niece. We made a “choose-your-own-birthday” card for her and for food, she chose cupcakes! We also had such delicacies as liver and onions on the list, so I’m not too shocked. Anyway, we are going to a movie in the theater, shopping for books, and eating cupcakes! All things she chose from our list to do on her special day with us.

    • October 12, 2011 8:44 pm

      That’s a super cool idea to let her choose her own stuff she wants to do for her birthday! I wish I had an aunt and an uncle that were as cool as you guys! I’m sure she, and you, will have a great time!

Leave a Reply

