Skip to content

Take Me Out To The Ball Game!

September 23, 2011

As the lyrics go, “… buy me some peanuts and crackerjack…”

Ok, so in my case, I went to a ball game and had neither.  But that’s besides the point here.  Going to the ballpark and eating is an American pastime.  What’s more American than hot dogs at the baseball game?  Heck, it’s become such a tradition that the Dodgers actually have a hot dog named after them, the Dodger Dog, and everyone knows that at Dodger Stadium, you get a Dodger Dog.  You can actually even get a Dodger Dog in the grocery store these days.  That’s how traditional hot dogs at the game have become.

So, a few weeks ago when I headed to a baseball game to see my hometown Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim (what a mouthful!) take on the Minnesota Twins (a little bit more normal name) at Angel Stadium of Anaheim (why do they have to have the “of Anaheim” at the end?) I had it set in my head that I was going to order a hot dog!

Having a hot dog at a baseball game is almost like a rite of passage.  You may never have a hot dog at any other time of the year, but when you got to a baseball game, you get yourself a hot dog while you sit in the sun (though we didn’t have sun seats) and watch your team hit the ball and run the bases.

I will say though, when you go to have a hot dog at a baseball game, it’s going to cost you a pretty penny.  Though a hot dog you make on your own at home may be a relatively cheap meal, when you go to the ball park, that hot dog’s going to cost you around $5!  Seriously?  For ground up pork and beef and whatever other parts of the animal they grind up and put in the casing?  (ok, that may have been a bit too descriptive!).  But yes, this dog that you’ll inevitably scarf down in about 3 bites will set you back about $5!

And don’t ask me why my dog is drowning in ketchup.  I like ketchup, ok?  I don’t like mustard.  Yuck!  And I don’t like relish!  I do like onions, and I would have put them on my hot dog, but at Angel Stadium, you have to tell the food seller that you want onions when you buy the hot dog and they grab you a pre-packaged little baggie with chopped onions.  When I arrived at the condiment station with my dog, I realized that I had missed my opportunity to get onions for my dog.  So, the next best thing is to drown my dog in ketchup!

Since the dog and soda weren’t enough to sustain me for the night, I walked around the concourse looking for something else to eat.  I stumbled upon a Tostito’s stand selling chicken and shredded beef nachos.  These were real nachos, not the tortilla-chips-in-a-bag-with-a-carton-of-salsa nachos that you get at many of the other concession stands at Angel Stadium.  Since I’m a sucker for nachos, and who wouldn’t be with all that cheesy goodness, I decided to give it a whirl.

It’s almost a do-it-yourself nacho bar, except that you tell the guy behind the counter how to do it.  You start off with a plate of corn tortilla chips.  Then you can add melted cheese and chili if you wish.  Then you’ve got your choice of chicken or shredded beef, I opted for the neutral chicken.  Then, there’s salsa and jalepenos.  I took the salsa and stayed away from the jalepenos.  Afterall, I’m not a fan of spicy food at all!

I was so excited to bring this heaping pile of cheesy nachos back to my seat.  I dug in right away, only to discover this concotion was spicy!  After a few bites, I realized that my mouth was on fire!  My mouth, my tongue, my lips were all burning.  Ouch!  I kept trying to figure out if it was chili or the salsa, or a combo of both that was so spicy since everything else was pretty neutral.  But I did pick up nacho chips to find red chili flakes.  After having eaten about half of the nachos I just couldn’t stand the heat anymore and had to turn the whole thing over to my husband.  Oh well, nacho dreams dashed!

I was hoping to get an ice cream sundae in an Angels helmet later in the game, but I never did.  Oops!  I guess that’s gotta go on the list for the next game I go to.

At least I got to see the Angels win 10-6 and I saw my very first grand slam!  Nachos, hot dogs, soda and a grand slam in an Angels victory.  I was one happy girl!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    September 23, 2011 9:58 am

    We used to have the best ballpark dogs in Minnesota and they were called “Dome Dogs.” They were so good and all other ballparks’ dogs were disappointing so I never ordered one at other ballparks. But then we got a new, nicer stadium and a new company got the hot dog contract….now no “Dome Dogs,” and the new dogs are not that good 😦 Now I only have hotdogs when I go camping.

    • September 23, 2011 3:11 pm

      I liked the yummy hot chocolate from Target Field. Though, I’m sure I was fooled because it was cold and windy and anything warm and chocolately would have tasted good. They probably made it from a packet like we would at home!

      I hate everything having to do with the Dodgers, but I will admit their nachos at Dodger Stadium are pretty good. The Dodger Dog, eh, it’s ok.

  2. Leumas permalink
    September 23, 2011 10:47 pm

    I heard the garlic fries at the Ravine are pretty good…

Leave a Reply

