Skip to content

Dole Fruit Smoothie Shakers

May 4, 2012
tags:

Have you seen the commercials on tv, or the ads in the papers recently for this new Dole product called the Dole Smoothie Shakers?  It’s basically advertised as a self-contained fruit and yogurt kit that turns into a wonderful and healthy fruit smoothie all without the use of a blender.  Now, I’m not normally one to do a product review, but when I saw these, they certainly caught my attention and I knew I needed to give them a try.

I went to my local grocery store, and sure enough, in their freezer section, next to the frozen fruits, I saw these individual serving canisters of the Dole Fruit Smoothie Shakers.  They apparently come in three different flavors: strawberry, strawberry-banana, and mixed berry.  I was sold as soon as I saw strawberry-banana.  Anything that contains a combination of those 2 fruits has to be good!

So, I picked up a couple of bottles and took them home and stored them in my freezer.  According to the label, all you need to do is add juice, any juice you like and wah lah, you have a smoothie.  The bottle recommends either orange, pineapple or fruit juice.  I happened to have a carton of Dole orange juice in my refrigerator, so I opted to see how the orange juice would work.

Following the directions on the container, the first step is to shake up the bottle to loosen the contents that are already in the container.  If your container is frozen solid as mine was, it might take a few minutes of shaking and squeezing and cajoling before the contents of the container loosen up and start to become un-frozen (is that a word?).  When I took the top off my container, this is what it looked like inside.  I obviously saw a lot of frozen strawberry bits.  And though I couldn’t identify the banana bits, I assumed they were there.  I also am assuming that it is part frozen yogurt that holds the whole concoction together, though I will say when I eventually tasted the smoothie, I didn’t taste yogurt.

The second step is to pour the desired juice to the fill line on the container.  As you can see, there’s a little transparent window in the packaging where you can see through the bottle.  You’re supposed to pour in your juice until you can see it through that window.  According to Dole’s website, this equates to about 7 oz of liquid, which makes a smoothie that is approximately an 11 oz serving that has less than 200 calories.

Go ahead, pour the juice into the container.  When you hit the fill line, stop, replace the cap back onto the container tightly.  The next step is where the smoothie is created without the blender.

In a normal smoothie, you’d add fruit, juice and ice and blend it all together until smooth.  In this case, you’ve got your frozen fruit/yogurt concoction and juice, and instead of a blender, you’re going to use hand power.  You’re supposed to vigorously shake the sealed container for at least 30-45 seconds so that everything comes together.  Uncertain that 30-45 seconds would do the trick since I could still feel the chunks of frozen fruit inside, I actually shook it for 2 minutes.

I wasn’t sure what I was going to find when I opened the cap on the container.  What I did find surprised me.  I had what actually looked like a fruit smoothie.  It was frothy and thick the way a smoothie should be.  When I tasted it, it tasted rich and refreshing like a smoothie.  I could certainly taste the strawberry, and though the banana was really subtle, I could taste that as well.  The flavor of the orange juice wasn’t too overpowering.  I was a little skeptical that this product would work and that I’d actually end up with a strawberry-banana fruit smoothie, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that I really did end up with what was advertised.  The drink was good and healthy.

Because I had a second fruit smoothie shaker container in my freezer, I decided to give this drink another try, this time with Dole pineapple juice instead.  When I poured in the pineapple juice and shook up the container, I ended up with a drink that looked exactly like what I created with the orange juice.  But after I took my first sip, I realized it wasn’t the same drink after all.  The tanginess of the pineapple juice really does come through in this drink and almost enhances the sweetness of the strawberry.  I think in the end, I much preferred using pineapple juice to orange juice, but I certainly liked both combinations.

I like the fact that this product is its own self-contained packaging.  It was simple to just pour, shake, drink right out of the container, and then close the lid and toss it in the trash.  No mess, no fuss, no clean up.  It was easy to make, delicious to taste.  I’ll definitely be picking up a few more of these at the store to keep in my freezer!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tara permalink
    June 21, 2012 1:47 pm

    THEY ARE AMAZING! GREAT FOR A LAZY HEALTHY SNACK. TASTE BETTER THAN IF YOU WOULD USE FRESH FRUIT AND I BLENDER! THANKS DOLE

  2. August 3, 2012 3:08 am

    It looks like the pieces were too big…which means wherever you bought it from let it sit out and then refroze it. You’re supposed to feel small dot size pieces inside and when you shake it for 30 seconds…it’s a RICH smoothe…not a watered down drink.

Leave a Reply

